Language Center

About us
|
Courses
|
Self-Access Center
|
Tandem learning
|
Language consultations
|
Language Center A-Z
|
Tailor-made courses, coaching
|

Guidelines on ECTS points at the Language Center

Legal basis
Awarding of ECTS points
Assessment
Grades
Substitute exam dates/Resits
Recognition and accreditation of language course results at the University of Zurich
Transfer of course results by the Language Center – UZH
Recognition of language course results at ETH Zurich
Conditions for the issuing of Certificates of Attendance

Legal basis

UZH: Guidelines on the design of streamed course programs with ECTS points at the University of Zurich, revised version of 22 June 2005
ETH Zürich: Guidelines on the ECTS point system of 17 December 2003

Awarding of ECTS points

Our language courses are designed and taught in keeping with ECTS principles.  All language courses include formal assessment as a means of evaluating participants’ learning. 

We award ECTS points exclusively on the basis of assessed performance.

Each language course that has a double period (a total of 90 minutes) in class each week for a full semester represents a workload of approximately 60 hours: 21 hours, or 28 45-minute lessons, take place in the classroom, and around 39 additional hours are self-study. Since 1 ECTS point is awarded for a workload of 30 hours, students who successfully complete a one-semester language course typically get 2 ECTS points.

In most of our courses, language acquisition is closely linked to interactive classroom learning processes. Consequently, participants' achievements depend on attendance of lessons and active participation in the classroom.

Requirements for the allocation of ECTS points and the issuing of certificates of achievement:
  • Successful completion of assessed and documented course assessments
  • Active classroom participation

Assessment

The assessment of participants’ progress is based on the skills participants are expected to gain and the learning goals set at the outset of the course. The forms of assessment and other requirements for each course are given in the online course descriptions. Your lecturer will provide additional information about the assessment of the course at the beginning of the course.

Grades

Grades are assessments of the quality of your learning outcomes. Participants of courses for which ECTS points can be gained are also given a grade based on the Swiss education system, where 1 is the lowest grade and 6 the highest. Grades below 4 are considered unsatisfactory, and no ECTS points are awarded for achievements below a 4. Half and quarter grades are possible.  

Substitute exam dates/Resits

Under extraordinary circumstances, and after consultation with the lecturer, an alternate date for a final test or other type of assessment can be agreed.

Tests and other assessment types cannot be repeated for the sole purpose of improving a passing grade. Where a participant has attained an unsatisfactory grade, they can only redo the assessment once they have attended the course a second time.

Recognition and accreditation of language course results at the University of Zurich

At the University of Zurich, all successfully completed modern language courses are listed on students’ Transcripts of Records.

When students graduate, all successfully completed modern language courses are listed on their Academic Record. The Academic Record states which course results have been accredited towards the final degree and which have not.
In some UZH Bachelor’s and Master’s degree programs, the ECTS points from successfully completed language courses can be accredited towards the elective or compulsory elective requirements of the degree. The ECTS points that a student attains from our language courses are assessed by each faculty, and the faculties decide whether the points can be accredited according to their framework regulations and program regulations.

Transfer of course results by the Language Center – UZH

Since spring semester 2016, the Language Center has been transferring all data related to participants’ achievements in successfully completed Language Center courses electronically to UZH faculties. This includes participants’ results and ECTS credits gained. The protection of data during the transfer is assured.
The Language Center will continue to issue printed certificates of achievement to UZH students and PhD candidates at the end of each course. The certificates list the results and ECTS credits gained, learning goals, course content, learning methods, and types of assessment.
All decisions regarding the recognition and transfer of final achievements in Language Center courses to a degree lie with the individual UZH faculties. Thanks to the electronic transfer of data, UZH students and PhD candidates are no longer required to present their printed Language Center certificates of achievement to their UZH faculty in order to have their grades and ECTS credits recorded.

 

Recognition of language course results at ETH Zurich

At ETH Zurich, all successfully completed courses in modern languages, both in the D-GESS Science in Perspective (SiP) study program and in other accepted categories, are listed on students’ current transcript (Leistungsüberblick) and on their Academic Record. In addition, several degree programs allow students to have additional language course results listed as a mobility subject in their Diploma Supplement. For details, please contact the administration office of your program.

For more information about the recognition of language course results under the Science in Perspective (SiP) program of the Department of Humanities, Social and Political Sciences (D-GESS), go to:
Rector's Directive on “Science in Perspective” (SiP) programme of the Department of Humanities, Social and Political Sciences (D-GESS)
- Regeln für die Aufnahme von Veranstaltungen in das Kursprogramm Science in Perspective (SiP)
- Strategy Paper on on “Science in Perspective” (SiP) programme of the Department of Humanities, Social and Political Sciences (D-GESS)

For more information about the recognition of language courses as electives in your degree program, please contact your student administration office.

Conditions for the issuing of Certificates of Attendance

Participants must attend 2/3 of the course.
- In courses with a total of 26-28 lessons, you must attend at least 18 lessons.
- In courses with a total of 52-56 lessons, you must attend at least 36 lessons.
- In courses with a total of 14 lessons, you must attend at least 9 lessons.


top

Sprachenzentrum

Über uns
|
Kursangebot
|
Selbstlernzentrum
|
Tandem
|
Lernberatung
|
Sprachenzentrum A-Z
|
Von Studierenden
|
Tailor-made courses, coaching
|

Wegleitung zur Vergabe von ECTS-Punkten am Sprachenzentrum

Rechtsgrundlagen
Vergabe von ECTS-Punkten
Leistungsnachweise
Noten
Wiederholung
Anerkennung und Anrechnung von Sprachlernleistungen an der Universität Zürich
Leistungsdatenübermittlung Sprachenzentrum - UZH
Anrechnung von Sprachlernleistungen an der ETH Zürich
Bedingungen für die Ausstellung einer Teilnahmebestätigung

Rechtsgrundlagen

UZH: Leitfaden zur Gestaltung gestufter Studiengänge mit ECTS (ECTS-Leitfaden) der Universität Zürich, überarbeitete Version vom 22. Juni 2005
ETH Zürich: Richtlinien zum Kreditsystem (ECTS) vom 17. Dezember 2003

Vergabe von ECTS-Punkten

Unsere Sprachlernangebote werden  konsequent nach den ECTS-Grundsätzen konzipiert und durchgeführt. Alle Sprachkurse enthalten Leistungskontrollen zur Überprüfung des Lernfortschritts.
Die ECTS-Punkte werden nur auf Grund von kontrollierten Studienleistungen vergeben.

Ein Sprachkurs von 2 SWS entspricht in der Regel einem Workload von insgesamt etwa 60 Stunden (davon 21 Stunden/28 Lektionen Unterrichtszeit und etwa 39 Stunden Selbststudium). 1 ECTS-Punkt entspricht an der UZH einem Workload von 30 Stunden, folglich werden für Sprachkurse in der Regel 2 ECTS-Punkte vergeben.

Da der Spracherwerb in den meisten Kursen eng mit den interaktiven Lernprozessen im Präsenzunterricht verbunden ist, ist der Lernerfolg ausserdem abhängig von Anwesenheit und aktiver Teilnahme am Unterricht.

 

Bedingungen für die Vergabe von ECTS-Punkten und das Ausstellen der Leistungsbescheinigung
  • Erfolgreich beurteilte und dokumentierte Studienleistung
  • Aktive Teilnahme am Unterricht

Leistungsnachweise (Lernerfolgskontrollen)

Die Leistungsnachweise orientieren sich an den zu erwerbenden Kompetenzen bzw. den gesetzten Lernzielen. Über die Formen und Anforderungen informieren unsere Kursbeschreibungen. Ausserdem informieren unsere Dozierenden Sie zu Beginn der Lehrveranstaltungen über die Leistungsnachweise und deren Durchführung.

Noten

Noten sind Bewertungen der Qualität der erbrachten Leistungen. Wir vergeben für alle mit ECTS-Punkten versehenen Leistungsbescheinigungen Noten entsprechend der im Schweizer Bildungssystem gebräuchlichen Notenskala von 1 bis 6, wobei 6 die beste und 1 die geringste Leistung bezeichnet. Noten unter 4 stehen für ungenügende Leistungen, für die keine ECTS-Punkte vergeben werden. Halbe Noten und Viertelnoten sind möglich.

Ersatztermin/Wiederholung

Ein Ersatztermin für die Durchführung einer Überprüfung der Studienleistung wird nur in begründeten Fällen nach Rücksprache festgelegt.

Als genügend beurteilte Studienleistungen können nicht zur Verbesserung der Bewertung wiederholt werden. Die Wiederholung einer ungenügenden Studienleistung ist an einen erneuten Kursbesuch gebunden.

Anerkennung und Anrechnung von Sprachlernleistungen an der Universität Zürich

An der Universität Zürich werden alle erfolgreich absolvierten Kurse in modernen Sprachen auf den Leistungsausweisen (Transcripts of Records) aufgeführt.

Beim Studienabschluss werden sämtliche bestandenen Sprachlernleistungen im Academic Record aufgeführt. Dabei werden die Kurse in angerechnete und nicht angerechnete unterteilt:

In einigen Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen der Universität Zürich können Sie Sprachlernleistungen mit ECTS-Punkten im Wahlbereich bzw. Wahlpflichtbereich anrechnen lassen. Die ausgewiesenen Kreditpunkte werden von den Fakultäten aufgrund ihrer Rahmenordnungen sowie Studienordnungen darauf hin beurteilt, ob sie an das angestrebte Studienziel angerechnet werden können.

Leistungsdatenübermittlung Sprachenzentrum – UZH

Seit dem Frühjahrssemester 2016 übermittelt das Sprachenzentrum alle Daten zu Leistungen, die am Sprachenzentrum erworben und bestanden wurden, elektronisch an die Fakultäten der UZH. Unter den Daten sind neben Leistungsbewertungen auch die erworbenen ECTS Credits zu verstehen. Selbstverständlich wird bei der Übertragung der Daten der Datenschutz gewährleistet.
Das Sprachenzentrum stellt den Studierenden und Doktorierenden der UZH wie bis anhin nach Abschluss des Kurses eine gedruckte Leistungsbescheinigung aus. Darin wird über die Leistungsbewertung, aber auch zu Lernzielen, Inhalten und Arbeitsformen sowie Form der Leistungskontrolle informiert.
Über die Anerkennung und Anrechnung der am Sprachenzentrum erbrachten Leistungen befindet ausschliesslich die jeweilige Fakultät der UZH. Dank der elektronischen Datenübermittlung sind Studierende und Doktorierende der UZH nicht mehr verpflichtet, die gedruckte Leistungsbescheinigung des Sprachenzentrums den Fakultäten der UZH vorzulegen, damit die erbrachten Leistungen erfasst werden können.

Anrechnung von Sprachlernleistungen an der ETH Zürich

An der ETH Zürich werden alle erfolgreich absolvierten Kurse in modernen Sprachen – die entweder im Rahmen des Kursprogramms Science in Perspective (SiP) des D-GESS oder im Wahlbereich angerechnet werden – auf dem Leistungsüberblick und dem Schlusszeugnis (Academic Record) aufgeführt. Ausserdem besteht in einigen Studiengängen die Möglichkeit, andere Sprachlernleistungen als Mobilitätsfach auf dem Beiblatt (Diploma Supplement) aufführen zu lassen.

Informationen zur Anrechnung der Sprachlernangebote im Kursprogramm Science in Perspective (SIP) des D-GESS der ETH Zürich finden Sie hier:
Weisung der Rektorin zum Kursprogramm „Wissenschaft im Kontext“ (Science in Perspective/SiP) am Departement Geistes-, Sozial- und Staatswissenschaften (D-GESS)
Regeln für die Aufnahme von Veranstaltungen in das Kursprogramm Science in Perspective (SiP)
Strategiepapier zum Kursprogramm Science in Perspective (SiP) an der ETH Zürich

Für Informationen zur Anrechnung der Sprachlernangebote im Wahlbereich Ihres Studienprogrammes an der ETH Zürich wenden Sie sich bitte an Ihr Studiensekretariat.


Bedingungen für die Ausstellung einer Teilnahmebestätigung

2/3 des Präsenzunterrichts müssen besucht werden.
–Bei Kursen von 28 SWS sind dies 18 SWS.
- Bei Kursen von 56 SWS sind dies 36 SWS.

 


top