General Terms and Conditions: UZH Bachelor’s, Master’s, and PhD Students of Ancient Languages

Fees

The Latin and Ancient Greek courses at the Language Center of UZH and ETH Zurich are free of charge for UZH Bachelor’s, Master’s, and PhD students.


General Information

The Basic Latin, Latin II (Latinum), Basic Greek, and Greek II (Graecum) modules are run by the UZH Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences and are therefore subject to the framework ordinance of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (PhF RVO) of 27 August 2018.

In accordance with the PhF RVO, these modules can be repeated once and are considered as failed after a second failed attempt at passing the exam. If the failed module is a compulsory PhF module, the student will be excluded from further study, according to §33 and be banned from the subject, according to §34 of the PhF RVO. If the failed module can be counted towards a study program at a different faculty, then the RVO of that faculty comes into force.

Enrollment

Please enroll during the enrollment period on the Language Center website. The closing date for enrollments is listed in each course description. Once you have received a confirmation email from the Language Center, your enrollment is binding.
 

Withdrawal

You can withdraw your enrollment until the end of the enrollment period. Withdrawals must be made in writing by email to the Language Center Secretariat (alte.sprachen@sprachen.uzh.ch). Verbal and/or written withdrawals made directly to course lecturers are not valid.
 

For the Grundlagen Latein module only: An additional cancellation deadline can be set in the second half of the course on consultation with the course controller. The deadlines will be communicated at the start of the course.
 

Course cancellations and substitution of lecturers

The Language Center reserves the right to cancel courses at short notice if enrollment numbers are too low, if a lecturer is unable to teach a course, and/or for other significant reasons. Some courses may be given by lecturers who are not listed in the course description if, for example, there are several parallel courses or if a course is taught by a substitute lecturer.

AGB Bachelor- und Masterstudierende und Doktorierende UZH Alte Sprachen

Allgemeines

Die Latein- und Altgriechischkurse des Sprachenzentrums der UZH und der ETH Zürich sind für Studierende und Doktorierende der UZH kostenlos.

Bei den Modulen Grundlagen Latein, Latein II (Latinum), Grundlagen Griechisch und Griechisch II (Graecum) handelt es sich um Module, welche von der Philosophischen Fakultät der UZH (PhF) angeboten werden, weshalb für diese die RVO PhF vom 27. August 2018 gilt.

Diese Module sind demnach einmal wiederholbar und gelten nach einem zweiten erfolglosen Prüfungsversuch als definitiv nicht bestanden. Ist das definitiv nicht bestandene Modul an der PhF ein Pflichtmodul, erfolgt eine endgültige Abweisung nach §33 und Sperre nach §34 RVO PhF. Sofern das definitiv nicht bestandene Modul an ein Studienprogramm einer anderen Fakultät angerechnet werden soll, gilt deren RVO.

Anmeldung

Um Kurse des Sprachenzentrums der UZH und der ETH Zürich verbindlich zu buchen, muss eine Online-Anmeldung über die Website des Sprachenzentrums innerhalb der Anmeldefrist erfolgen. Der Anmeldeschluss ist in jeder Kursbeschreibung angegeben. Sobald Sie eine Bestätigungs-E-Mail des Sprachenzentrums erhalten haben, ist Ihre Anmeldung verbindlich.

Anmeldung

Eine Abmeldung ist einzig vor dem Anmeldeschluss möglich. Abmeldungen müssen schriftlich per E-Mail an das Sekretariat des Sprachenzentrums erfolgen. Eine mündliche und/oder schriftliche Abmeldung bei den Dozierenden ist nicht ausreichend.

Einzig für das Modul Grundlagen Latein gibt es nach Rücksprache mit der Kursleitung zusätzlich eine Stornierungsfrist in der zweiten Kurshälfte. Die genaue Frist wird zu Beginn des Kurses bekannt gegeben.

Kursannullierung, Kurszusammenlegung sowie Austausch von Dozierenden

Das Sprachenzentrum kann wegen unzureichender Anmeldezahlen, Ausfällen von Dozierenden oder aus anderen wichtigen Gründen, welche im alleinigen Ermessen des Sprachenzentrums liegen, ein Modul kurzfristig annullieren.