General FAQs


Covid certificates for on-site courses

My course is published online as a face-to-face course; is the Language Center switching to online courses, given the current UZH and ETH COVID certificate requirements?

No. The information in the Language Center course descriptions remain valid, in accordance with UZH guidelines.

My course is published online as a face-to-face course; are language courses being offered as hybrid courses, given the current UZH and ETH COVID certificate requirements?

No. The information in the Language Center course descriptions remains valid, in accordance with UZH guidelines.

My course is published online as a face-to-face course; are language courses going to be recorded and made available electronically, given the current UZH and ETH COVID certificate requirements?

No. The Language Center does not record any of its courses.

My course is published online as a face-to-face course; are language courses going to be streamed, given the current UZH and ETH COVID certificate requirements?

No. The Language Center does not stream any of its courses.

Is it mandatory to wear a mask during a Language Center course?

Masks are not mandatory in UZH classrooms, but the UZH recommends wearing a mask. Masks continue to be mandatory in all indoor public spaces at UZH and ETH.

How is the UZH going to ensure compliance with the COVID certificate requirement?

The UZH will ensure compliance with the COVID certificate requirement through a mix of random checks, technical measures, and personal responsibility. Appropriate, regular spot checks will be carried out to ensure compliance with the certificate requirement. The pandemic management team is currently determining how these checks will be carried out. Teaching staff are not responsible for carrying out spot checks but can do so if they consider them necessary.

At ETH Zurich, external stewards will monitor compliance by performing random checks of certificates. ETH members will have to show their certificates and a valid personal ID or ETH card. Anyone without a valid certificate, proof of vaccination, or proof of a PCR test will be barred from attending teaching events in person.

Which vaccines are recognized?

UZH, recognizes Swiss COVID certificates and vaccination certificates from abroad if the foreign vaccine is approved in the EU or listed in the WHO’s Emergency Use Listing.

ETH Zürich recognizes Swiss COVID certificates and COVID certificates issued by EU member states, as well as proof of vaccinations with vaccines listed on the WHO FOPH website.

Is testing available?

UZH offers free tests at various locations (until the end of October) to students and staff subject to mandatory COVID certificates who do not have a COVID certificate.

ETH Zurich offers several on-site test options.


Enrollments / Withdrawals / Changing courses

Who can enroll in a course?

Members of UZH and ETH Zurich; members of our partner universities, which are Zurich University of Teacher Education (PH Zurich) and Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK).

Who CANNOT take a course?

The following groups are not entitled to enroll in our language courses: Members of universities that are not partners of the Language Center of UZH and ETH Zurich; spouses and life partners of UZH and ETH members; and auditors and guests.

How much do the courses cost?

Our course fees vary according to your target group; fees are also dependent on the format of a course and on the maximum number of participants admitted to a course. When enrolling for one of our courses, select your target group first. Then select the title of your chosen course to access the course description. The course fee is listed at the top of the course description.

Where can I find information about course fees, course content, materials, and course location?

This information is provided in the detailed course description. When enrolling for one of our courses, select your target group first. Then select the title of your chosen course to access the course description.

When can I enroll for a course?

Enrollment dates are listed in the detailed course description and on the entry page of our website (right-hand side). They differ from the general module booking deadlines of UZH and ETH Zurich. For Language Center courses, the enrollment and withdrawal dates that are posted on our website are binding.

How do I enroll for a course?

On our entry page, click on the language of your choice. This will take you to a page with information about the courses and services offered in that language, as well as the comment: “Please choose your university and your target group.” Once you have selected these, you will be directed to a list of courses that you can enroll in during the enrollment period. Dates for enrollments are posted on the right-hand side of our entry page.

Once you have submitted the online form, you will immediately get a browser message and an automatically generated email to confirm that your enrollment request has been received. When we have processed your enrollment, you will receive another email informing you whether or not you have a place on the course. If you do not receive a confirmation email from the Language Center, your enrollment is invalid.

Can I still enroll in a course even if the course has already started?

You can no longer enroll in a course once the first two weeks of a course have passed.

You can, however, choose one of the following options

I am on a waiting list. Will I get a place on the course?

If a place becomes available, we will let you know immediately. If you do not receive any information from us by the enrollment deadline, this means that we are unable to offer you a place on the course. Unfortunately, we cannot provide information in the interim about your chances of getting a place.

If you do not get a place on a course, you can try again in a later semester, or you can study the language independently. Please contact the Self-Access Center for help with autonomous learning.

I have already taken a particular course before and would like to take the same course again in order to brush up my skills. Can I do this?

No. We cannot award ECTS points twice for the same course. You are only permitted to re-take a course if the first time around you failed to complete the course assessments or you failed the course entirely. If you have already passed a course and still wish to brush up your skills, please contact the Self-Access Center for help with autonomous learning.

How do I find out what my language level is?

You can do a self-assessment of your language level using the descriptors and checklists provided by the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages. Click here for more information.

In addition, please read the entry requirements and course levels listed in our course descriptions carefully before enrolling.

The Language Center reserves the right to cancel enrollments after a course has started if a participant’s language skills differ significantly from those listed in the course description. ECTS points are issued only for progress made and assessed in connection with one of our courses.

What is the language of instruction?

At higher language levels, the language of instruction is the same as the target language. At beginner level, explanations are sometimes given in German. At beginner level, English is used to teach German as a foreign language courses.

As an ETH student who needs GESS (SiP) points, how do I enroll, and which courses can I enroll in?

If, as an ETH student, you wish to attend a course where you can gain Science in Perspective (SiP) points from the D-GESS, you need to enroll via the Language Center website. You cannot enroll via myStudies. Our GESS/SiP courses are also published in the electronic ETH Course Catalogue. You are only enrolled in one of our courses if you have received an official confirmation email from the Language Center.

What is the deadline for withdrawing from a fee-based course?

Up until the end of the enrollment period, you can withdraw free of charge from a course that you have enrolled in. Dates of the enrollment period are listed in the detailed course descriptions and on the entry page of our website (right-hand side).

If you withdraw after the deadline, or if you simply fail to appear, you will be charged the full course fee. Withdrawals must be made in writing by email to the Language Center Secretariat. Written and/or verbal withdrawals made to a lecturer do not count as proper withdrawals. Non-payment or partial payment of the course fees do not constitute a withdrawal from a course. For more information, please read our General terms and conditions.

How do I withdraw from a course?

Withdrawals must be made by email to the Language Center Secretariat. Written and/or verbal withdrawals made to a lecturer do not count as proper withdrawals. Non-payment or partial payment of the course fees do not constitute a withdrawal from a course. For more information, please read our General terms and conditions.

Up until the end of the enrollment period, you can withdraw free of charge from a course that you have enrolled in. Dates of the enrollment period are listed in the detailed course descriptions and on the entry page of our website (right-hand side). If you withdraw after the deadline, or if you simply fail to appear, you will be charged the full course fee.

When will I get my invoice?

Invoices are issued and sent out at the end of the enrollment period.

Can I change my course?

You can change courses during the enrollment period in consultation with the Secretariat and your lecturer, but only if the course you wish to change to still has available places.

How many courses can I take in any given semester?

In general – for all languages except for Ancient Greek, English, and Latin – UZH and ETH Bachelor’s and Master’s students can initially only enroll for one course. On Thursday before semester starts (9am), you can add other courses. You will get a browser message when you enroll if the one-course rule applies.

As an UZH or ETH PhD/doctoral student, staff member, or alumni and as a member of Zurich University of Teacher Education (PH Zurich) and Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK), you can enroll for as many courses as you like.

How does the Language Center allocate course places?

UZH and ETH Zurich provide their Bachelor’s and Master’s students with a wide range of language learning options through the Language Center. When we plan our course program, we assess what the demand for our courses is likely to be. However, in many cases, the demand exceeds the number of course places we are able to provide. For this reason, we cannot guarantee that everyone will be able to take the course of their choice.
When we allocate course places, we take the following criteria into consideration:
 

  • Linguistic suitability

  • The Language Center doesn’t assess language levels of course participants before they enroll. You need to carefully assess your language level yourself, and we allocate places based on the information you give us. Reading the course description and the Course levels as defined by the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages carefully will ensure that you have the necessary skills for a particular course. If you need help assessing whether you meet the requirements of a particular course, please contact the Secretariat.
  •  
  • Motives for choosing a particular course

    Priority is given to those who need a course for study purposes.
  •  
  • Other criteria
    If both criteria above are met, we then consider the time and date of enrollment and how long a participant has been at university when they enroll at the Language Center.


OLAT and Moodle learning platforms

I don’t have an UZH or ETH account. How do I access OLAT?

If you are a member of PHZH or ZHdK, you can register on OLAT by selecting your university on the OLAT entry page.

If you are a UZH or ETH alumni, you can create a SWITCH edu-ID at the time of registration.

I don’t have an UZH or ETH account. How do I access Moodle?

If you are a member of PHZH or ZHdK, you can register on Moodle by selecting your university on the Moodle entry page.

If you are a UZH or ETH alumni, you can create a SWITCH edu-ID at the time of registration.


Certificates / ECTS points

Can I have ECTS points/credits accredited to my degree?

When you have completed a Language Center course and have passed the course assessments, we will issue a certificate of achievement. This lists the number of ECTS points awarded for successful completion of the course. The transmission of your course results to UZH and ETH Zurich occurs automatically at the end of the semester. The accreditation of ECTS points to your degree is not the Language Center’s responsibility. For more information about accreditation and recognition of course results, click here.

How are my learning outcomes (assessments) graded?

You will find our general assessment guidelines via the ECTS points link on our website. Your lecturer will give you more information about the assessment criteria for individual assignments and about how they calculate grades.

Which type of certificate will I receive?

If you successfully complete one of our language courses, you will receive a certificate of achievement from the Language Center. Your certificate will state the number of ECTS points you have gained and your grade. The assessment requirements are published in the course description.

Can I get a certificate confirming my attendance of a course?

If you don’t need the ECTS points from a course, or if you have not completed the assignments needed to pass a course, but you would still like a confirmation that you took the course, you must have attended at least two-thirds of all lessons. For courses of 26-28 lessons, you must have attended 18 lessons; for courses of 52-56 lessons, 36; and for courses of 14 lessons, 9.


Self-Access Center

How can the Self-Access Center help me?

The Self-Access Center offers a range of services and media (including ones that you can borrow) to help you study your chosen language independently, including the following:

  • You can get advice on how to brush up your language skills
  • • If you have been unable to attend a course at the Language Center and wish to take a course at a higher level a future semester, you can work on your language skills independently at the Self-Access Center in the interim
  • You might also be able to attend one of our learning activities (e.g., language meet-ups, writing workshops, games events, and film and book clubs) in the language you wish to learn


General information

Does the Language Center provide confirmation of language skills?

Informationen finden Sie unter folgenden Links:

German as a foreign language

English

French

Italian

Portuguese

Spanish

Which language schools does the Language Center recommend to interested external parties?

We don’t make recommendations for private language schools and/or for language courses run by universities abroad.

FAQs allgemein


Themenbereich Zertifikatspflicht in Präsenzveranstaltungen

Mein Kurs ist als Präsenzkurs ausgeschrieben; werden auf Grund der an der UZH und ETH eingeführten Zertifikatspflicht für Lehrveranstaltungen Sprachkurse auf Onlineunterricht umgestellt?

Nein. Gültig sind die Angaben in den Kursbeschreibungen des Sprachenzentrums. Damit hält sich das Sprachenzentrum an die Vorgaben der UZH.

Mein Kurs ist als Präsenzkurs ausgeschrieben; werden auf Grund der an der UZH und ETH eingeführten Zertifikatspflicht für Lehrveranstaltungen Sprachkurse als hybrider Kurs durchgeführt?

Nein. Gültig sind die Angaben in den Kursbeschreibungen des Sprachenzentrums. Damit hält sich das Sprachenzentrum an die Vorgaben der UZH.

Mein Kurs ist als Präsenzkurs ausgeschrieben; werden auf Grund der an der UZH und ETH eingeführten Zertifikatspflicht für Lehrveranstaltungen Sprachkurse aufgezeichnet und zur Verfügung gestellt?

Nein. Das Sprachenzentrum zeichnet keine seiner Lehrveranstaltungen auf.

Mein Kurs ist als Präsenzkurs ausgeschrieben; werden auf Grund der an der UZH und ETH eingeführten Zertifikatspflicht für Lehrveranstaltungen Sprachkurse gestreamt?

Nein. Das Sprachenzentrum streamt keine seiner Lehrveranstaltungen.

Gilt in den Lehrveranstaltungen des Sprachenzentrums eine Maskenpflicht?

In den Unterrichtsräumen der UZH gilt keine Maskenpflicht; das Tragen einer Maske ist jedoch empfohlen. In allen öffentlich zugänglichen Räumlichkeiten der ETH gilt weiterhin eine Maskenpflicht.

Wie wird die Einhaltung der Zertifikatspflicht geprüft?

An der UZH wird die Einhaltung der Zertifikatspflicht durch einen angemessenen Mix aus Stichproben, technischen Massnahmen und Eigenverantwortung gewährleistet.
Genauere Informationen folgen von Seiten der Hochschulen. Das Pandemiemanagement klärt derzeit, wie diese durchgeführt werden. Dozierende sind für die Durchführung der Stichproben nicht verantwortlich, dürfen aber Kontrollen durchführen, falls sie dies als zwingend notwendig erachten.

An der ETH wird die Einhaltung der Zertifikatspflicht über koordinierte Stichproben durch externe Stewards durchgeführt. Vorzuweisen sind neben dem eigentlichen Zertifikat immer auch ein gültiger Personalausweis oder die ETH-Karte. Wer über kein gültiges Zertifikat bzw. Impfnachweis oder ETH-internen Testnachweis verfügt, darf die Lehrveranstaltung nicht besuchen.

Welche Testmöglichkeiten werden angeboten?

Die UZH bietet (vorläufig bis Ende Oktober) an verschiedenen Standorten Gratistests für Studierende und zertifikatspflichtige Mitarbeitende an, die über kein Zertifikat verfügen.

Die ETH Zürich bietet auf ihrem Gelände mehrere Testmöglichkeiten an.

Welche Impfstoffe werden anerkannt?

An der UZH sind zusätzlich zum Schweizer Covid-Zertifikat sind auch andere ausländische Impfzertifikate anerkannt, wenn der verwendete Impfstoff in der EU oder gemäss «WHO Emergency Use Listing zugelassen ist.

An der ETH Zürich werden neben dem Schweizer Zertifikat nicht nur sämtliche Covid-Zertifikate von EU-Ländern anerkannt, sondern auch Impfnachweise mit Vakzinen auf der Liste der WHOcall_made.


Themenbereich Anmeldung / Abmeldung / Kurswechsel

Wer kann sich für einen Kurs anmelden?

Angehörige der UZH und der ETH Zürich sowie der Partnerhochschulen PHZH und ZHdK.

Wer kann NICHT an einem Kurs teilnehmen?

Angehörige anderer Hochschulen ausser den Partnerhochschulen von UZH und ETH Zürich, Ehepartner*innen oder Lebenspartner*innen von Angehörigen der UZH und der ETH Zürich, Auditor*innen und Gasthörende können nicht an unseren Sprachkursen teilnehmen.

Wie hoch sind die Kursgebühren?

Die Kursgebühren sind pro Zielgruppe festgelegt und abhängig vom Kursformat und der max. Teilnehmendenzahl. Wählen Sie beim Einstieg in das Kursangebot Ihre Zielgruppe und klicken Sie auf den Kurstitel, um zur Kursbeschreibung zu gelangen. Dort sehen Sie die für Sie geltende Kursgebühr.

Wo finde ich Informationen zu Kursgebühren, Kursinhalt, Lehrmittel oder Kursort?

Sie finden diese Informationen in der detaillierten Kursbeschreibung. Wählen Sie beim Einstieg in das Kursangebot Ihre Zielgruppe und klicken Sie auf den Kurstitel, um zur Kursbeschreibung zu gelangen.

Wann kann ich mich für einen Kurs anmelden?

Die Anmeldefristen sind jeweils in der detaillierten Kursbeschreibung sowie auf unserer Startseite rechts publiziert. Sie stimmen nicht mit den Modulbuchungsfristen der UZH und der ETH Zürich überein. Verbindlich für An- und Abmeldungen sind nur die Anmeldefristen des Sprachenzentrums.

Wie kann ich mich für einen Kurs anmelden?

Klicken Sie auf der Einstiegsseite die gewünschte Sprache an. Dort finden Sie neben einer kurzen Information zum Sprachangebot den Hinweis «Wählen Sie Hochschule und Zielgruppe». Sie sehen die für Sie zugänglichen Kurse und können sich während der Anmeldefristen für einen Kurs anmelden. Die Anmeldefristen sind auf der Einstiegsseite rechts publiziert.

Nach dem Absenden des Online-Anmeldeformulars wird Ihre erfolgreiche Registrierung der Anmeldung durch eine Browser-Meldung und durch ein automatisches E-Mail sofort bestätigt. Sobald die Anmeldung geprüft und bearbeitet worden ist, werden Sie per E-Mail informiert, ob Sie einen Kursplatz erhalten haben. Ohne ein definitives Bestätigungsmail des Sprachenzentrums ist Ihre Anmeldung zum Kurs nicht gültig.

Kann ich nach Kursbeginn noch in einen Kurs einsteigen?

Ein Kurseinstieg in die Semesterkurse ist ab der 3. Kurswoche nicht mehr möglich.

Es stehen Ihnen aber folgende Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung:

Ich bin auf der Warteliste; kann ich einen Kursplatz bekommen?

Sollte ein Kursplatz frei werden, informieren wir Sie umgehend. Wenn Sie bis zum Anmeldeschluss keine weiteren Informationen erhalten, können wir Ihnen den gewünschten Kursplatz nicht anbieten. Leider können wir keine Zwischeninformationen zu Ihren Chancen, einen Kursplatz zu erhalten, geben.

Wenn Sie keinen Kursplatz erhalten, können Sie es in einem späteren Semester erneut versuchen oder sich die Inhalte selbständig aneignen. Bitte wenden Sie sich an das Selbstlernzentrum, um dort Hilfe beim selbständigen Lernen zu erhalten.

Ich habe einen Kurs bereits einmal erfolgreich besucht, möchte ihn nun aber wiederholen, um die Kenntnisse aufzufrischen. Ist dies möglich?

Nein. Es werden nur einmal ECTS-Punkte für die gleiche Studienleistung vergeben. Ein wiederholter Besuch des gleichen Kurses ist nur bei nicht erbrachter oder nicht bestandener Leistung möglich. Wenn Sie den Kurs erfolgreich besucht haben und die Kenntnisse trotzdem auffrischen möchten, wenden Sie sich bitte an das Selbstlernzentrum, um dort gegebenenfalls Hilfe beim selbständigen Lernen zu erhalten.

Wie kann ich mein Niveau einschätzen?

Mit Hilfe der Niveaubeschreibungen und Checklisten können Sie Ihr Sprachniveau selbst einschätzen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter diesem Link.

Zusätzlich sollten Sie die Kursbeschreibungen der ausgeschriebenen Kurse und die dort erwähnten Hinweise zu den Anforderungen genau lesen.

Das Sprachenzentrum behält sich vor, die Anmeldung von Kursteilnehmenden auch nach Kursbeginn noch zu annullieren, wenn sich deren Sprachkenntnisse wesentlich von den sprachlichen Anforderungen unterscheiden, die in der Kursbeschreibung formuliert sind. ECTS-Punkte werden nur vergeben für Lernfortschritte, die im Zusammenhang mit dem Kursbesuch gemacht und im Kurs überprüft werden.

Welches ist die Unterrichtssprache?

Auf den höheren Niveaus ist die Zielsprache auch Unterrichtssprache. Im Anfängerbereich wird für Erklärungen auch Deutsch bzw. bei Veranstaltungen in Deutsch als Fremdsprache Englisch verwendet.

Wie und für welche Kurse kann ich mich als ETH-Studierende*r des Departements GESS (SiP) einschreiben?

Wenn Sie als ETH-Studierende*r die Kurse des Sprachenzentrums im Rahmen des Studienprogramms Science in Perspective (SiP) des D-GESS besuchen wollen, müssen Sie sich über die Website des Sprachenzentrums für den Kurs anmelden. Ein Eintrag in myStudies ist nicht möglich. Die Kurse werden auch im elektronischen Vorlesungsverzeichnis der ETH publiziert. Ohne ein definitives Bestätigungsmail des Sprachenzentrums ist die Anmeldung zum Kurs nicht gültig.

Bis wann kann ich mich von einem kostenpflichtigen Kurs abmelden?

Eine Abmeldung ist einzig vor dem Anmeldeschluss ohne Kostenfolge möglich. Bei einer Abmeldung nach Anmeldeschluss sowie bei Nichterscheinen wird die volle Kursgebühr fällig. Abmeldungen müssen schriftlich per E-Mail an das Sekretariat des Sprachenzentrums erfolgen. Eine mündliche und/oder schriftliche Abmeldung bei den Dozierenden ist nicht ausreichend. Das Nichtbezahlen oder auch nur teilweise Bezahlen der Kursgebühr gilt nicht als Abmeldung. Weitere Informationen sind in den Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen nachzulesen.

Wie kann ich mich abmelden?

Eine Abmeldung ist einzig vor dem Anmeldeschluss ohne Kostenfolge möglich. Bei einer Abmeldung nach Anmeldeschluss sowie bei Nichterscheinen wird die volle Kursgebühr fällig. Abmeldungen müssen schriftlich per E-Mail an das Sekretariat des Sprachenzentrums erfolgen. Eine mündliche und/oder schriftliche Abmeldung bei den Dozierenden ist nicht ausreichend. Das Nichtbezahlen oder auch nur teilweise Bezahlen der Kursgebühr gilt nicht als Abmeldung. Weitere Informationen sind in den Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen nachzulesen.

Wann erhalte ich die Rechnung?

Die Rechnungen werden nach Anmeldeschluss erstellt und versandt.

Kann ich den Kurs wechseln?

Ein Kurswechsel ist nach Absprache mit dem Sekretariat und den Dozierenden bis Anmeldeschluss möglich, falls noch Plätze vorhanden sind.

Für wie viele Kurse pro Semester kann ich mich anmelden?

Als Bachelor- oder Masterstudierende*r der UZH bzw. der ETH Zürich können Sie sich mit Ausnahme für die Sprachen Altgriechisch, Englisch und Latein bis Donnerstag vor Semesterstart (9 Uhr) nur für einen Kurs anmelden. Eine entsprechende Browser-Meldung erinnert während des Anmeldeprozesses nochmals an diese Regelung.

Als Doktorierende*r, Mitarbeitende*r, Alumnus*Alumna der UZH bzw. der ETH Zürich und als Angehörige*r der PHZH bzw. der ZHdK bestimmen Sie, für wie viele Kurse Sie sich anmelden möchten.

Wie vergibt das Sprachenzentrum Kursplätze?

Die UZH und die ETH Zürich stellen ihren Bachelor- und Masterstudierenden am Sprachenzentrum eine grosse Auswahl an Sprachlernmöglichkeiten zur Verfügung. Obwohl bei der Angebotsplanung die Nachfrage berücksichtigt wird, ist diese in manchen Fällen grösser als das Angebot. Wir können deshalb nicht allen Studierenden einen Kursplatz im gewünschten Angebot garantieren. Bei der Vergabe der Kursplätze beachten wir die folgenden Kriterien:

  • Sprachliche Eignung für den Kurs
    Das Sprachenzentrum führt keine Einstufungstests durch, bitte stufen Sie sich also selbständig sorgfältig ein, denn wir richten uns bei der Zuteilung nach Ihren Angaben. Die Lektüre der Kursbeschreibung sowie die Raster zur Selbsteinschätzung helfen Ihnen, Ihre Voraussetzungen zu prüfen. Kontaktieren Sie das Sekretariat, wenn Sie Hilfe brauchen bei der Einschätzung der sprachlichen Eignung für den Kurs.
  • Motive für die Kurswahl
    Wir behandeln studienbezogene Motive prioritär.
  • Weitere Kriterien
    Sind beide Kriterien erfüllt, werden zusätzlich Anmeldedatum und -zeit sowie die Semesterzahl berücksichtigt.


Themenbereich Lernplattformen OLAT und Moodle

Ich habe keinen UZH- oder ETH-Account: Wie kann ich mich bei OLAT registrieren?

Wenn Sie Angehörige*r der PHZH oder der ZHdK sind, können Sie sich bei OLAT anmelden, indem Sie beim Einstieg Ihre Hochschule auswählen.

Wenn Sie Alumnus*Alumna der UZH oder ETH Zürich sind, erstellen Sie für die Registrierung bei OLAT eine SWITCH edu-ID.

Ich habe keinen UZH- oder ETH-Account: Wie kann ich mich bei Moodle registrieren?

Wenn Sie Angehörige*r der PHZH oder der ZHdK sind, können Sie sich bei Moodle anmelden, indem Sie beim Einstieg Ihre Hochschule auswählen.

Wenn Sie Alumnus*Alumna der UZH oder ETH Zürich sind, erstellen Sie für die Registrierung bei Moodle eine SWITCH edu-ID.


Themenbereich Leistungsbescheinigung / ECTS-Punkte

Kann ich mir ECTS Credits / Kreditpunkte anrechnen lassen?

Das Sprachenzentrum stellt bei erbrachtem Leistungsnachweis eine Leistungsbescheinigung aus, auf der die Anzahl erreichter ECTS CRedits ausgewiesen ist. Die Übermittlung von bestandenen Leistungen an die UZH und ETH Zürich erfolgt automatisch nach Semesterende. Die Anrechnung der ECTS Credits gehört nicht in den Zuständigkeitsbereich des Sprachenzentrums. Informationen zur Anerkennung und Anrechnung der Sprachlernleistung finden Sie hier.

Wie werden meine Leistungsnachweise (Lernerfolgskontrolle) benotet?

Über den Link "ECTS Credits" können Sie sich auf unserer Website über unsere allgemeinen Richtlinien zur Benotung der Leistungsnachweise informieren. Über die Bewertungskriterien für die Benotung der einzelnen Leistungsnachweise sowie über die Berechnungsgrundlage der Notenskala informiert Sie im konkreten Einzelfall die zuständige Lehrperson.

Welche Art von Leistungsbescheinigung erhalte ich?

Nach einem erfolgreich bestandenen Sprachkurs erhalten Sie eine Leistungsbescheinigung des Sprachenzentrums. Auf der Leistungsbescheinigung werden die ECTS-Punkte und eine Note ausgewiesen. Die Bedingungen sind in der detaillierten Kursbeschreibung jedes einzelnen Kurses festgehalten.

Kann ich eine Bestätigung der Kursteilnahme erhalten?

Wenn Sie keine ECTS Credits brauchen oder den Leistungsnachweis dafür nicht erbracht haben, aber trotzdem eine Bestätigung Ihrer Kursteilnahme haben möchten, müssen Sie mindestens 2/3 des Präsenzunterrichts absolviert haben. (Bei Kursen von 26–28 Lektionen sind dies 18, bei Kursen von 52–56 Lektionen sind dies 36, und bei Kursen von 14 Lektionen sind dies 9 Lektionen.)


Themenbereich Selbstlernzentrum

Womit kann Ihnen das Selbstlernzentrum helfen?

Sie finden dort viele Angebote und Medien (auch zur Ausleihe), um die gewünschte Sprache selber zu lernen:

  • Sie finden Unterstützung, um Ihre Sprachkenntnisse aufzufrischen.
  • Wenn Sie in diesem Semester keinen Kurs am Sprachenzentrum belegen können und im nächsten Semester einen Kurs im höheren Niveau besuchen möchten, können Sie im Selbstlernzentrum Ihre Sprachkenntnisse selber verbessern.
  • Eventuell können Sie auch an Lernaktivitäten (z.B. Sprachtreffs, Schreibwerkstätten, Spielevents, Film- und Buchclubs) in der gewünschten Sprache teilnehmen.


Themenbereich Allgemeine Informationen

Welche Sprachschulen empfiehlt das Sprachenzentrum externen Interessierten?

Wir sprechen keine Empfehlungen für private Sprachschulen oder für Sprachkursangebote von Universitäten im Ausland aus.

Stellt das Sprachenzentrum eine Bestätigung der Sprachkenntnisse aus?

Informationen finden Sie unter folgenden Links:

Deutsch als Fremdsprache

Englisch 

Französisch

Italienisch

Portugiesisch

Spanisch